It all started with the English salmon fishing lords in the middle of the 1800s. For years they flocked to the river Gloppen, famed for its abundance of fish, and were welcomed by the hosts at Sivertsen Hotell.
Text: Edda Espeland / Translation: Linda Vikaune / Photo: Ole-Tom Almenning
Later sports fishermen – and women – from all over the world came to try their luck in Gloppen, and they still preferred to stay at the Sivertsen Hotell, a hotel proudly run by five generations of the same family until 1988. In 1994 it was sold to the present hosts, brothers Preben and Dag Håkon Moen, who renamed it Gloppen Hotell. These days their guests are mainly Norwegians who come to fish for salmon and sea trout, but the atmosphere at the hotel is probably not very different from the time when the salmon lords stayed here. When guests discuss the day’s fishing, there may be boasts, tall tales and exaggerations – there is definitely a spirited atmosphere in the lounge in the evening.
The hotel took over the fishing rights in 1996, and even though times have changed the salmon fishermen still dominate the hotel, especially in the summer months.
A journey in local flavours
The guests at Gloppen Hotell today can enjoy more than just good fishing. Preben and Dag Håkon’s parents put a lot of effort into serving local food, and their sons, who are both trained chefs, have taken this legacy further. The historic hotel restaurant offers diners delicious dishes made with love and local produce – some of the vegetables and herbs come from their own garden. All the ingredients have come from the fjord, the mountain or a farm in the area. The hotel even has its own microbrewery – the cellar contains two huge 5,000 litre tanks filled with their own brew. Preben and Dag Håkon brew the beer themselves, and Preben is one of only about 70 beer sommeliers in Norway.
The Moen family have taken good care of the old furniture and decorative items, and the hotel seems just as charming now as it must have done in its heyday. The building is typical for Northern European timber architecture from about 1840 to 1930 and going inside feels like stepping a hundred years back in time.
In 2000 they refurbished ten guest rooms, each individually designed with historical reproduction wallpaper, beautifully carved antiques, lace curtains and nostalgic bathrooms. Many of these historical rooms were redecorated in 2015 as part of a continuous process.
In June 2011 the new conference centre with reception, office and 24 rooms were ready to receive guests. Built in a simple and modern style, it also draws on the hotel’s history and character. Photographs of the old salmon lords adorn the walls and the new rooms and conference facilities have all been named after good fishing spots in the river.
Today the hotel offers a total of 61 rooms from three different centuries, but no matter which room you choose, hospitality and good service is always guaranteed.